Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Nicki Lee, May 19 2006 12:26PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

ITEC Massage course structure

I have been teaching privately and in FE, both qualification courses and CPD. I'm about to embark on something a bit different, though, which is offering ITEC Holistic Massage through a private college. When I studied originally, it was the FE course one night a week for about 9 months. This is not appropriate for the private work, and I can see there are several ways of doing it, and am hoping for some feedback on the pros and cons of the structure. As a student or a trainer, what did you think of one weekend a month? If so, how long were the days, and how many? I'm thinking 6 hours a day and 9 weekends, theory in the morning and practical in the afternoons, but would welcome feedback.
What about other ways? Possibly one weekday fortnightly? Or any other combination? I'm very interested in hearing how others have structured this (but am not looking at an accelerated course where it's all finished in a couple of months).
Thanks in advance for your time and thoughts. (Please note this same message is on the general discussion forum.)
Nicki
Godfrey Pool
May 19 2006 3:27PM
Dear Nikki ,

From experience as a student and as a lecturer,

I think 1 weekend a month Saturday & Sunday from approx 10am - 5pm works best.

Theory first then practical

This was the format at the London School of Sports massage, and I always seem to stuggle with anything other than this.

I teach ITEC Holistic and Sports massage 1 day a week from 09:30 to 2:30 (5 hrs) ,
and after a coffee and lunch break have been taken only really have 4 hrs teaching and seem to always be stuggling to get sufficeint theory and practical done each day.

Hope this helps you,

Regards,

Godfrey Pool
Julie Munnings
May 19 2006 10:33PM