Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Caroline Gaskin, Dec 29 2011 4:06PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Taking credit card payments as a practitioner

Hi folks,

I'm interested in setting up credit card payment facilities for my clients and remember reading an article in our CThA magazine a while ago about this.

Regarding payment for appointments I work as a homeopath at 3 different practices, one doesn't take c/c payments on our behalf, one does but charges us 3% and only pays me at the end of the month and the other takes c/c payments and pays me at the end of the month at no extra charge ie. all 3 have different policies and most clients want to pay with a card.

I also post out remedies, kits & supplements that I'd like to take credit card payments for so ideally I am looking for a system I can use through my mobile phone as it's impractical (and must contravene data protection) to carry round details of clients cards to take payments using a landline at home (ie. where my admin work is done).

Does anyone have any information on this, any referrals for us as members of CThA or knowledge of any discount schemes for CThA members wanting to set up c/c facilities?

Best wishes to all of you for 2012, Caroline Gaskin
Stuart Dare
Dec 29 2011 4:49PM
Hi, You could try looking into the PayPal scheem, which allows you to process credit/debit payments via PC or smart phone I believe. You dont need the electronic card reader or merchant bank account. You need to check fees but at first viewing I didn't think it was too expensive an option, I guess it depends on the value of monthly transactions?
Hope that is of interest.
Stuart Dare
Coordinator - East Midlands Support Group
Caroline Gaskin
Dec 29 2011 6:38PM
Thanks Stuart, I'm looking into that right now, will post back on it, best wishes, Caroline
Amanda Clegg
Dec 29 2011 6:59PM
thanks Stuart & Caroline - useful info. Looking forward to any details.