Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Carol McCubbin, Oct 15 2012 8:51PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Indian Head Massage

Can anyone advise what is the best chair to use for Indian Head Massage? I recently did a course and I have looked at various chairs but I feel none of them have been comfortable enough. Any advice would be appreciated thanks.
Michele Wiffin
Oct 15 2012 10:24PM
I'd be interested in hearing people's thoughts on this, as I'm currently studying IHM. I've used a variety of household chairs, office chairs, diningroom chars etc but not found one that's been comfortable yet. Was thinking of investing in a massage chair normally used for seated acupressure/tattooing, but would like to try one or hear what people think of them for IHM first.
Nicki Lee
Oct 15 2012 11:00PM
I use a massage chair for upper body massage, but it differs from standard IHM (I often use more pressure and both hands at the same time, unlike IHM where you can't push too hard or you'll push them off the chair). It's hard to do facial massage on this type of chair -even when client sits up - because these chairs are usually too high to reach over to the face, and to have the client lean back it wouldn't be comfortable or possibly even safe.

If I'm doing an IHM I use a chair that does not have arms, that is low enough (or with a footstool so the client's feet are comfortably flat on the floor) and with back support, but not a high back. Dining chairs often have too high a back; I've found kitchen type chairs can be good. Stools are uncomfortable because people can't relax and sit back. If you use a salon type chair with wheels, it's best to lock the wheels or maybe put casters under them so it is stable.