Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Aleksandra Jawulska, Oct 31 2012 9:46PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Clicking Joints

hi everyone,

This may seem like a silly question to ask,but I would really appreciate your opinions.
I have been massaging now for over two years, and am noticing more and more that during treatments my joins are clicking, sometimes quite a bit.
This includes my thumbs, elbows, shoulder girdle, and sometimes wrists, not all together, but sometimes more than one joint at a time.
Should I treat this quite seriously, by taking supplements?
And if so, can anyone recommend any really good ones?
Could this also alter a lot if I simply do more warm ups, stretches, and strengthening exercises?
I also find that I don't breathe enough when I work sometimes and tense up.

Any information would be very much appreciated.

Thank you
Nicki Lee
Oct 31 2012 9:55PM
In general, noise and clicking alone aren't really anything to worry about. If you are not having pain, loss of function or mobility I wouldn't worry about it.

I've never heard of supplements that would affect this.

This sort of noise would in most cases probably be one of two things - if it's a 'popping' or joint clicking (as you can get during an osteo/chiro adjustment) it's believed to be just air in the joints causing the noise. Although people feel a release sometimes, the noise itself isn't significant as far as I know. Another cause might be if muscles are tense, when a tendon should be moving evenly it might instead get caught up and then suddenly 'snap' into place. This can cause a slight 'clunk'. If the muscles are released this should stop.

I know from working with many of my clients some people do click a lot! I haven't noticed working with them that it's significant, and nothing I've read suggests it either.