Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Sue Moore, Jan 20 2007 12:52PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Massage/aromatherapy and motor neurone disease

Has anybody had experience of massaging and/or using essential oils with someone suffering from motor neurone disease? I am about to contact the prospective client's physio neurologist for info on his condition, but any practical information from therapists who have already had experience with this would be gratefully received.

many thanks

Sue Moore
Angela Pilborough
Feb 5 2007 11:10PM
Hi Sue
I have some experience of pts with motor neurone disease in a hospice.i have worked with a physio to do massage of hands and feet to help with flexibility when there has been no oeadema.as verbal communicatio can be limited watching facial experession to gauge pressure is important.we are limited to massageing other areas because dressing and undressing is so difficult.
using essential oils is difficult because you do not want to decrese the muscle tone in any remaining functioning muscles.i tend to use oils to help stimulate the circulation as hands and feet are usually very cold.Gentle citrus oils to help with the frustation have also been very effective.
I could go on but dont know how much more info you would like.I hope this has been helpful.I have not tried replying before.
Sue Moore
Feb 6 2007 8:58AM
Hi, Angela -

thanks for the reply. I have been in contact with the patients physio neurologist who has agreed massage. He, too, has stressed the difficulty of communication, but I have massaged someone with Parkinsons before and had similar problems with communication so am not too worried about that.