Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Casey Stewart-Smith, Sep 30 2013 12:45PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Consulation forms...

Hello everyone,

This is my first post on here so please bare with me if this question has already been asked. I think i do already have the answers in my head but as I'm new to this I would be extremely grateful for any advice you could give.

It’s just a quick query RE consultation forms. I qualified back in June and have been slowly building up some regular clients. I was just wondering what the best practice would be for repeating consult forms? I know it’s not necessary to complete the full form again straight away; I usually have a brief recap before they arrive and then ask them how they have been highlighting any new aches pains stresses etc.

Is it best to hand write new notes onto existing forms and additional paper or is there a secure programme I can use for the computer? Also I'm assuming its right that if any new contraindications arise then Dr's permission or a disclaimer/indemity would be appropriate? and cilent would also sign and date a new form to confirm.

When training we had to have our cilents fill out both a disclaimer and indemity, can I now use just the indemity? is this enough.

Many thanks x

Casey x

Giuseppe Tomaselli
Sep 30 2013 2:35PM
Dear Casey,
First of all don’t follow the computer root as it is very complicated with the various legal procedures to follow.
I add any notes to the existing consultation form so to have all the information together. As you said, just how they felt after the last massage, what treatment I gave in the current one and the immediate outcome. If any new medical condition is disclosed, I ask for a doctor certificate OR an indemnity note signed by the client, whichever is more appropriate/required. This is also attached to the first consultation form.