Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Una Tucker, Aug 8 2014 1:27PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Using supplemental tools in massage - a sensible move or just cheating?

HI Everbybody

I'm a registered massage therapist who designed a really good supplemental massage tool called 'the Kneader' that therapists can use in their treatments to save their hands from strain during deep and/or repetitive movements. Initially, I designed the tool for my clients to use in-between their treatments with me; but when I began to trial the tool with fellow therapists prior to manufacture, I realised how much the professionals wanted and needed such a product.

The upside of our industry's continual growth is that massage therapists are doing more massage treatments. The downside is this means that RSI-related injuries are on the increase. Some studies reckon that a therapist's career is, on average, about 5yrs at best, which is a rather depressing statistic. Whenever I take the Kneader to a tradeshow, I am innundated with therapists complaining of sore fingers, thumbs and wrists. The therapists come in all shapes, ages, sizes and levels of experience - the only common denominator is that they are working longer hours and they are feeling the strain, especially their thumbs (and once a thumb is busted, so is your career).

I would therefore like my fellow therapists' thoughts on the use of tools in massage: to explore why tool-use is not part of the general teaching curriculum, what therapists need (i.e. tool-use vs 'hands-free'), do therapists consider themselves 'cheating' when using a supplmental massage tool in treatments, is there a need for supplmental tools vs tool therapies such as 'Hot Stones' and, overall, where the industry is going with regard to tool use.

I look forward to your replies. All the very best! Una, Kneads Must www.kneadsmust.com

John Tindale
Sep 30 2014 2:58PM