Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by John Parham , Mar 20 2007 5:06PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

REFLEXOLOGY FOR BRAIN-DAMAGED/SPECIAL NEEDS YOUNG PEOPLE

I would like to share knowledge and practices with others out there in working with these groups. Most of the recipients are quite severely affected from birth. Little usual communication possible.
Karen Panter
Mar 23 2007 9:35PM
Hi John

Have you used any other complementary therapies with these young people? I'm studying massage at the moment but work with young people with special needs and would like to take the massage into the workplace when I qualify so any experience welcome.

Karen
Sarah Michaelides
Jul 19 2007 1:51PM
Hello, My name is Sarah.

I have just completed a course in instructing Infant and Baby massage and am very keen to work within special needs once I qualify in about 2 months time. There is an element of reflexology within the massage routine which is fantastic because sometimes the babies/infants will only let you get as far as their feet. Massage for special needs children is a fantastic way of nurturing and comforting them as well as aiding their development, physical strength, confidence and relationship with their parents/carers.

I think work in this area is essential and I am open to suggestions as to who to approach.
Karen Panter
Jul 19 2007 9:30PM
Hi Sarah

it's good to know you want to get involved! Why don't you try approaching your local special needs schools. i work in one and we are looking into ways to introduce some comp. therpaies at the moment. Or some local support groups may also be interested. Feedback as to the response you get would be good.

Good luck

Karen
Sally-Jayne Claus
Aug 8 2007 12:14PM