Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Jackie Hilton, Oct 17 2007 9:26PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Reaction to Oils

Hi I have been a therapist now for 2yrs and have never had any problems with grapeseed oil, nor heard of anyone having problems or reactions.
My client yesterday has had a reaction. She says she has no allergies and on the previous occasion she had almond oil and no reaction. Her skin was totally itchy and hive like.
Has anyone ever had a reaction to grapeseed oil before any advice and does anyone know why she may have reacted to this but not the almond oil?
Thanks Jax
Mike Colquhoun
Oct 20 2007 8:02PM
It's a long time since I was really into the base oils but I did know quite a bit once so you need to check my info if at all doubtful.
Grapeseed oil is generally considered to be hypoalergenic [low reaction rate] because in the process of extracting it all the enzymes [the good stuff, but that which the body may react against] are 'burnt off' by the amount weight needed to crush the seed generating so much heat that they are destroyed. If you think of it you can't crush them between your teeth they're so hard.
Personally I'd prefer to use almond oil as it still has most of it's enzymes and the body usually loves it. [nut allergies excepted]
If I had a real problem I'd contact Charles Wells at Essentially oils, he may have 'retired' but he is such a good chap and so knowledgable that I'm certain that he would be willing to chat to you.
Hope this helps Mike
Liz Phillips
Oct 22 2007 3:50PM
Hi Jackie

If you dont already it is worth using organic oils.

I always use Sunflower it is a little more expensive but is lovely to work with.

Good luck
Liz
Jackie Hilton
Oct 22 2007 4:58PM
Thank you for replying.
I usually use Almond Oil permitting and just on this occasion didnt. But I have never heard of a reaction to grapeseed before and the clinic I work at hasnt either.