Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Shelley Foster, May 13 2008 2:59PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

working with people with severe learning disabilities

hi all,

I have recently been approached by the manager of a small care home looking for someone to come in and massage their residents.

All the residents have learning disabilities, mainly downs syndrome and cerebral palsy. None of the clients can communicate properly.

All 8 clients have received massage before and responded really well. the treatments are mostly hand/arms or feet massage.

i was just wondering if anyone has had experience with this type of client group and if they could give me any advice.

would be most appreciated.

thank you!
Karen Panter
May 17 2008 11:41AM
Hi

I work in a school for people with severe learning difficulties. We have massage and relaxation one afternoon a week - hands and feet, and they really enjoy it. You will find that a lot people can communicate in some way through ways other than speaking and will show whether they like what you are doing. If you want any more info, let me know.

Karen
Shelley Foster
May 21 2008 6:13PM
hi karen,

thanks so much for your reply!

i have been back to the home, and met all the residents and the carers on duty and im really looking forward to going back and starting some massage there.

would love to have a quick chat with you if thats ok, just to talk to some one thats been there and relay some of my worries which are mostly of me doing something wrong or showing my probable ignorance on the subject!

if it is ok to give you a quick call, can i find your details on the embody site? no worries if not, just really appreciate the support on here.

anyway, hope to hear from you soon

shelley
Karen Panter
May 21 2008 7:45PM
Hi Shelley