Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Trisha Gabriel, May 27 2008 1:03PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Increasing client base

I have been a therapist for over 13yrs, I have been busy, and I have been quieter, but still manage to tick along with a few clients. Occasionally I have a really busy day with several clients. I have found a lot of longterm clients have dropped away, maybe coming for 8 or 9 yrs, some have passed away,and probably due to the economic climate I am wondering how to gain more clients, and actually feel quite 'lost', as I just don't know what else to do!!! I almost feel as if I have to re launch myself!! I have a purpose built therapy room in peaceful semi rural surroundings, and offer a good range of therapies, good for stressed busy people; but I am really struggling to be motivated and positive!! I used to do home visits, but prefer to work from home. Anyone in a similar position?
Angela Rawlins
May 27 2008 5:34PM
Hi Trish

I know what you mean. I think the economic climate is causing a lot of people to drop out. My husband is in the finance industry and said last year was going to be bad and this year even worse:((

I have had a lot of clients fall away and don't know what I can do to encourage more business. Perhaps Gillian Kenyon has some ideas.
Trisha Gabriel
May 27 2008 6:07PM
Hi, Trish here, yes its always ticked along and I have always had at least 3-4 clients a week, which I am grateful for, sometimes a lot more than that! and I have never done a lot of marketing or advertising often writing to existing clients with offers. I think generally people are keeping a tight reign on their finances. I have wondered about signing up for the H Club but there was only 1 client who was Sussex based.
Angela Rawlins
May 27 2008 6:29PM
Hi Trish

Yes, I have considered the H Club, but when I looked at Gillian's list of waiting clients, Berkshire's not even mentioned:(