Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Amanda Pennington, Nov 4 2009 3:03PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

letters after name relating to qualifications

Hi,

I saw the post relating to letters after your name and also have the same question. I have just joined CThA (today actually!) and qualified this summer. I have a level 3 Diploma in Aromatherapy.

I was told that before CThA you can put an 'm' which stands for member; should this be a capital or lower case 'm'? Also, is there a usual order for putting your qualifications and Professional Body membership letters after your name?

On a previous reply to the question I have asked, the letters relating to diploma did not state which level of diploma; is this the usual case?

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

Amanda
Angela Rawlins
Nov 4 2009 5:02PM
Hi Amanda

I don't think there is any requirement to put what level of qualification after your name. I only put MCThA, ITEC, USUI, MAR(reflexology Assc.)

You can put anything that relates to your training where you have gained a certificate, so, that would include your Aromatherapy certificate qualification or even a membership to another body:))
Amanda Pennington
Nov 5 2009 3:04PM
Thanks Angela,

So I would put VTCT Dip.Aromatherapy, MCThA I presume?

All the best,

Amanda
Angela Rawlins
Nov 5 2009 3:24PM
Hi Amanda

Yes that sounds ok..... Aromatherapy might be a bit long. Do you have a certificate board for that?
Amanda Pennington
Nov 21 2009 5:02PM
Hi,
No, I will be mobile so wont have a certificate board. Do you mean you would just say VTCT Dip.?
Thanks
Amanda
Angela Rawlins
Nov 22 2009 9:32PM
Sorry Amanda I didn't make myself clear, I meant the qualification you got for your aromatherapy.
Paul Stuart Morgan-Ayrs MSc (Psychol)
Apr 29 2010 12:09PM