Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Angelina Kelly, Jul 27 2010 3:23PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

A Therapist's Dilemma

Recently I was approached by a Homeopathic Dispensary to participate in a month of in store promotion. Therapists were invited to come in for 3 hours meet and greet the public and promote their work. "what a wonderful idea" I thought, "I'll definitely sign up for that". When I replied expressing my interest I asked how much the therapist would be paid and their reply was "our budget won't allow us to pay a fee".

Now, as a therapist, I see the wonderful opportunity this is to promote my practice and spread the word, however, as a business man, I see the cost and the dilemma. Do I work for free to promote the business, or do I let the opportunity go because I believe that my time and expertise is valuable? Recently while undergoing business training we were taught never to give of our time and services for free.

As a self-employed therapist I'm not in a position to give myself the time off from my practice and family to engage in any non-paying event, even as promotion. Although I could claim back the expenses against tax at the end of the year, I'm still at a loss for unpaid work time. If I'm not getting paid for work than I can't afford the costs. Every professional expects a professional fee for a professional service, that's how business works.