Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Emma Dennis, Feb 2 2011 11:34AM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

CV's

Hello All Therapists,
Please can someone give me some pointers on CV's? I am a new therapist and I want to put together a good CV - is it necessary to have one's schooling on there? I'm 32.

Thanks for your responses.

Emma
www.emmadmakeup.com
Amanda Clegg
Feb 2 2011 11:48AM
Hi Emma

Firstly take out the greengrocer's apostrophe from CVs - it's a plural not a possessive!

I personally wouldn't go into too much detail about school ( we all went to school so it's a given) - just list the last lot of school exams - if you did A levels then the number of O levels is enough, and if you've done any Further or Higher ed, then again just numbers, eg 7 O levels, 3 A levels, HND/BA or whatever in a bit more detail. Your professional therapy education is obviously important, as is a summary of your work experience. But, keep it brief and be honest if there are gaps: say what you were doing, and don't try to fudge the dates. No need to go into detail about age/personal details but obviously that will be inferred from your work experience. Don't worry about references at this stage but have some ready.

If like me you are a late-career-change person, a brief personal statement about what brought you to therapy and how your personality/previous experience makes you suitable is a really good idea. Again, short and brief. Try it out on a few friends/professianl contacts first to see if you've set the right tone.

Good luck!
Giuseppe Tomaselli
Feb 2 2011 1:09PM
Dear Emma,

First of all make sure that your CV is relevant to the job you are applying for.

Unfortunately, it means that you will have to change part of it for, almost, every job application, even if they are all in the same industry.