Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Sandra Mary Smith, Feb 18 2011 11:29AM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

Talk/Demonstration

Hello,

Im fairly new to this line of work and am trying to build up a client base.
I have been offered the chance to give a short talk (ten to fifteen minutes)at the end of a sewing workshop based in the village where I live. There will be sixteen local ladies attending.
Im viewing this as a really good opportunity and would appreciate any advice or comments regarding how to proceed.
This is what Im planning to do (first thoughts)Introduce myself, short history of how I came to this point, description of my servce, short demonstration, leaflets and fliers to hand out, Appointment book at the ready!
Any thoughts anyone, I havnt done anything like this before.
Thanks Sandra
Sue Hannaford
Feb 18 2011 11:51AM
I would think about how my treatments could help people who sew alot and make sure you talk about that. I would probably like to watch them sew to get some ideas! I would ask firstly do they get any particular aches and pains from sewing and then make sure the demo addressed those issues. Talk about how your treatment can be adapted to what is going on for them - eg might be tight neck and shoulders, but could also be arm issues. Work out how you can do some work on hands and arms (one of those gardening kneeler cushions is great if you have to kneel to reach hands) and demo that. What they want to know is how it will help them. Hope that helps. Good luck!
Barbara Lewis
Feb 18 2011 11:53AM
sounds like you have it covered although you dont say what you are talking about - massage holistic therapies etc
i used to ask my students to make a 30 opoint lsit of things they needed to cover in a talk to a wi group