Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Sandra Mary Smith, Mar 17 2011 5:07PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

moral support

Hi,
would anyone like to offer me some encouragement and pearls of wisdom ! Im fairly new to this line of work and have been self-employed as a therapist since november last year. Im still trying to get my head around bookeeping/tax etc and clients are scarce. Im in the process of HMRC workshops which are hard going and am in touch with businesslink. Its just all foreign to me! Is it just a matter of time? or am I being a bit slow! Any comments would be appreciated :) Sandra
Angela Rawlins
Mar 17 2011 5:19PM
Hi Sandra

I'm in the lucky position OR NOT of living with an Accountant, Auditor and a trainee tax inspector!! My husband, the Accountant said to me: Keep a record of you incomings and out goings - simple! With regards to tax, he sorts that for me:) See if you can find an accountant or some one who can help. Accountants fees may be expensive and the self assessment forms are a challenge.

Keep going:)
Roushan Martens
Mar 17 2011 6:08PM
Chin up! The start is the hardest part, honestly. Think of this as a great period of time that you won't have again once you're busy, to do any reading and study that you're interested in. Where at all possible, get treatments yourself of the therapies you are practicing - it gives you really important learning that will carry over to your clients, who will be more and more impressed. It also helps reduce the stress and worry of the lean times!

Try and arrange swaps with people from your course, or other therapists. Even try out some different therapies, so you will have personal experience if clients mention them (not suggesting that you give advice on therapies you aren't trained in, just that you will have more understanding of your clients' experience).