Complementary Therapists Association - Forums
Posted by Jane Hopwood, Mar 20 2011 7:46PM

Please do not use forums to advertise courses.

Forums Disclaimer

MASSAGE OF THE MUSCLES OF THE UPPER BACK - I AM NEW TO MASSAGE

Hi guys thanks for the feedback on my other queries. This is such a basic question but I need to ask it. When massaging the back in particular the scapula area of levator scapulae and rhomboids major, I feel the muscle flicking beneath my thumb. When holding the pressure I can feel the muscle flick/twitch out from underneath my thumb. Like a twang. I have my own thoughts on this but would appreciate comments to make sure that I have a correct understanding. Kind regards.
Sue Hannaford
Mar 20 2011 8:52PM
What are your thoughts Jane?
Jane Hopwood
Mar 21 2011 7:55AM
I think I may be feeling the tendons or ligaments flicking. I am wondering whether the scapulae is slightly dislocated and so the tendons and ligaments are out of alignment - hence the flicking?
Amanda Clegg
Mar 21 2011 10:10AM
This sounds like a trigger point - these are areas of tension that build in the belly of the muscle. There are specific techniques for identifying and then releasing them, and this will make a huge difference to your client's comfort and flexibility.

As a newly qualified therapist you should investigate doing a Trigger Point Therapy CPD training day as I've found this to be one of the most useful add-ons. You will need to continue with CPD quite rigorously in the next few years, as ITEC is really only the starting point. Nikki Lee at Elysium in Newbury/Kingsclere is brilliant, as is Jane Johnson at London Massage School and Natural Therapies School at Thames Ditton.
Amanda Clegg
Mar 21 2011 10:14AM